Skip to content
Sport Concussion Assessment Tool (SCAT5)

What is the SCAT5?

The SCAT5 is a standardized tool for evaluating for a suspected concussion and can be used on individuals aged 13 years and older. It supersedes the original SCAT (2005), the SCAT2 (2009), and the SCAT3 (2013). For children aged 12 and under, please use the Child SCAT5.

The Adult SCAT5 is designed for use by medical professionals. If you are not a licensed medical professional, please use the Concussion Recognition Tool (CRT5). If a concussion is suspected, adults should undergo medical assessment by a medical doctor or nurse practitioner.

The SCAT5 scoring summary includes the following sections:

  • Red flags
  • Memory assessment – Maddocks Questions
  • Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS) examination
  • Cervical spine assessment
  • Symptom evaluation
  • Cognitive screening
  • Neurological screening
  • Balance examination
  • Delayed recall

Share Now:

Actsafe Safety Association would like to acknowledge and honour that our workplace and classrooms are located on the traditional, ancestral and unceded territory of the Qayqayt, S’ólh Téméxw (Stó:lō), Hul’qumi’num Treaty Group, səl̓ilwətaɁɬ təməxʷ (Tsleil-Waututh), šxʷməθkʷəy̓əmaɁɬ təməxʷ (Musqueam), and Stz’uminus peoples.


Actsafe is a not-for-profit health and safety association supporting British Columbia’s arts and entertainment industries.

© 2024 Actsafe Safety Association  |  All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy  |  Legal Disclaimer  |  Code of Conduct

Skip to content