Skip to content

For over 25 years, Actsafe has been governed by the industries it represents through a 7-person Board of Directors, Society Members (who can vote at the AGM) and two 25-organization Standing Committees; a Motion Picture Standing Committee and a Performing Arts Standing Committee. Memberships include a balance of employer and worker representatives.




    • to receive notice of, and to attend, all General Meetings;
    • to make or second motions at a General Meeting and to speak in debate on motions under consideration in accordance with such rules of order as may be adopted;
    • to exercise a vote on matters for determination at General Meetings; and
    • to participate in the programs and initiatives of the Society, in accordance with such criteria as may be determined by the Board from time to time.

Standing Committees

Actsafe operates through two standing committees: Performing Arts and Motion Picture.

    • The purpose of each Standing Committee is to provide strategic advice and non-binding recommendations to the Board and staff. The Standing Committees offer broad vision and guidance to the Board and staff, give voice to Actsafe’s member needs, and identify priorities for Actsafe programs. The Standing Committees are an important avenue for Actsafe’s outreach, providing significant collective reach to the communities we serve, as well as bringing collective intelligence and intellectual resources to Actsafe.
    • Each Standing Committee will be comprised of a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 25
    • Standing Committee Members, as may be determined from time to time by the Board.
    • Actsafe members (individuals and organizations) are invited to join the MPSC or the
    • PASC, as the case may be, by the Board.

Performing Arts Standing Committee

  • Arts Club Theatre Company
  • BC Alliance for Arts & Culture
  • BC Music Festival Collective
  • BC Touring Council
  • Canadian Actors’ Equity Association (CAEA)
  • Riggit Services Inc.
  • The Dance Centre
  • Vancouver Musicians Association (VMA) – Local 145
  • Canadian Alliance of Dance Artists – BC Chapter (dba CADA/West)
  • Canadian Institute of Theatre Technology (CITT)
  • Dancer Transition Resource Centre (DTRC) BC Office
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE)
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) 118
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) 168
  • Kelowna Community Theatre
  • Live Nation
  • Opera Mariposa
  • Peter Boulanger
  • Professional Association of Canadian Theatres (PACT)
  • Vancouver Civic Theatres
  • Vancouver Convention Center
  • Vancouver Symphony Orchestra

Motion Picture Standing Committee

  • Alameda Entertainment B.C. (Disney)
  • Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers (AMPTP)
  • Association of Canadian Film Craftspeople (ACFC) West
  • BC Council of Film Unions (BCCFU)
  • Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA) – BC Producer’s Branch
  • Commercial Producers Association of Western Canada (CPAWC)
  • Contract Services Administration Trust Fund (CSATF)
  • Directors Guild of Canada (DGC) BC
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE)
  • International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) 891
  • International Cinematographers Guild – Local 669/Internationa / Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) 669
  • NBC/Universal Studios Canada
  • Netflix
  • Paramount Pictures Corporation (Canada) Inc.
  • Sony Pictures
  • Teamsters – Local 155
  • Union of BC Performers (UBCP) / ACTRA
  • Vancouver Musicians Association (VMA) – Local 145
  • Warner Bros

Actsafe is a not-for-profit health and safety association supporting British Columbia’s arts and entertainment industries.

Skip to content